What Is “The Saga of Montairyus”?

Posted on Updated on

(I know some of you have already read this post, but I think it’s only fair that my new followers get to read it too!)

5% horror.  8% humor.  10% romance.  22% action.  30% epic.  25% ethically inspiring. 100% awesome.

     “Terren,” said Rtoa, “as you know now, Kartrus is the leader of the Gilliks.  He is not a creature of this world, but a spirit in bodily form.  As a spirit, he holds great power, not just as in dominion over others, but a mystical power that all spirits were created with.  Centuries ago, the dark emperor took from the soil of Montairyus steel and fashioned it into a sword.  The steel fashioned into a sword was not an evil thing, but because Kartrus only intended to use the sword to inflict pain upon others the blade itself became evil.  With his own mystical powers Kartrus enchanted the sword to turn his victims into Gilliks once they are stabbed.”

It’s a bold move to openly pronounce my book as “100% awesome”.  Of course, what else would I call my book?  I wrote it, after all.  But why should you also think it’s awesome?  It’s because I’ve combined my love of medieval fantasy with a creativity and imagination that’s home to many home-schoolers, and I’ve worked for most of my life on this story.  The idea for my book was conceived when I was seven (yes, the number after six and before eight!).  I had wanted to write a book at such a young age because both of my older brothers were doing so.  What else would a seven year-old brother do other than try to emulate his older brothers?  I was obsessed with the idea of people changing from good to evil, as if it was the coolest, most exciting and scary idea that anyone could ever think of.  Thus, I came up with the idea of the main bad guy (Kartrus) having a sword that injects evil into people, making them his slaves.  Also, the idea of a knight’s baby brother being kidnapped by a group of evil beasts was also conceived when I was seven.  I’ve come a long way.

      “Lord Terren!” called the messenger.  The boy stood by Stormflash and peered upwards at the knight.  “My lord, it is your mother!”

     Terren dismounted quickly; the ground crunched beneath his feet as he landed.  “Speak quickly, boy!” urged Terren.

     “The baby was stolen,” stammered the messenger, “the remaining guard said that the house was attacked by six beasts, but they were strangely…manlike.”

     “Come with me!” growled Terren, beginning to grow hot and sweat.

     The boy seemed greatly surprised as Terren grasped him beneath his arms and put him on Stormflash’s saddle.  Terren sat in front of the messenger, and wrapped his hands around the reins.  With his feet in place he veered towards his mother’s house and dug the spurs into the brown stallion and the horse galloped forward.  “Tell me more!” shouted Terren over the pounding of hooves.

     The boy’s voice shook as he unsteadily went up and down on the horse’s galloping back, “I had been on my way to deliver a letter to Lady Kaira when it happened.  Four black creatures all standing like men with pale white faces rushed through the front door.  A rider clad with full armor rode towards the house, his right hand a hand of snakes.  Another creature altered its form into various creatures.  Seven guards present among her Ladyship’s home were killed, one remained alive, but the monsters left as soon as they had the child.”       

      Terren remained frozen for several seconds, trying to comprehend all that had been said: six horrible creatures, one who could change his shape, others that were hideous, and another fully armored and ready for battle.  None had been slain and they had stolen Earyis.  “Earyis,” thought Terren, overwhelmed.  His head swelled with anxiety.  

I recently wrote a post talking about how a good villain is immensely important to writing a good, exciting story.  Obviously, you have to have likable heroes, but villains can really add depth to the story and present numerous complexities for the main characters.  I like to mix the pros and cons of my bad guys.  Some of them are powerful, or not easily defeated, because they are physically hard to overcome; they possess mystical abilities that make them invincible to many people.  Others, however, don’t set foot on the battle-field.  They use their mystical capabilities to attack from a distance.  They play with the minds of their prey.  They tempt their prey.  They watch them simmer and burn into a puddle of despair and bewilderment.

     All sounds around Terren still existed, but as he watched the Dishonuz move towards him, swerving like a serpent with eyes full of hatred, he heard a strange noise.  Like leaves on trees waving in the strong updraft of a storm, like the burn of heated iron to flesh, like the hiss of a snake when disclosing itself to its prey, a black mist began to form near the head of the Dishonuz.  The beast seemed to take no notice of darkness that was gathering on its body, but snarled at Terren with its lips curling upward, revealing its white teeth.

     The mist began to clear and in its place riding on the Dishonuz was a demon, one of the seven that Kartrus rarely released, this particular one named Saerevice, but known more commonly as Scream.  Saerevice’s body was the body of a human skeleton, distorted and unearthly with a grin of horror etched on its face.  A long cloak clothed the creature of death, and its color was dead silver, lacking life or radiance.  The demon had no weapon of substance, but what he could do was far more dangerous than any kind of weapon made by man, elf or Gillik.  Saerevice could paralyze his victim, only then to take their life by a dark evil invested in him.  The demon was called Scream because, when he used his dark mystical power, literally grasping his victim and making his magic flow into them through his hands, the pain was so terrible it caused his victim to scream until their voice gave out and they could speak no more.  It was said that Kartrus had done the same to Scream when the demon had been a human, and so Scream had inherited the power to destroy the voices of others in a horribly painful way.   To be fighting this demon was especially scary, for this demon was especially powerful.  Having Gladeus encouraged Terren to be confident, but he was still anxious and afraid to duel such a creature, not mentioning the beast it rode on.

I’m not entirely sure how accurate the percentages are at the beginning of this post, but they create a decent generalization of my book.  “I Was Called”, my first book, was officially finished on January 6th, 2011 (yes, I’ve memorized the date!).  The excerpts in this post are from “I Was Called”.  Three of my family members have read through “I Was Called” after I had thoroughly edited it for about two years after its completion.  My mom really enjoyed it, my older brother (age nineteen when he read it) absolutely loved it (he actually doesn’t like it when I change the story too much), and my dad (who grades papers for college students for a living) is very impressed with it.  I hope with all my heart you get as much enjoyment out of it as they do/did.  I also hope this post didn’t sound prideful!  Perhaps it did.  Don’t get me wrong though, I’m proud of my book.  I’m just trying to not be prideful.  My book needs a lot of work.  But I stand firm in my belief that my ideas, and my characters, are both worth writing about, and are worthy of your most appreciated and gracious attention!

      “I give you courage and strength,” replied the Pure Spirit, his voice reverberating in Terren’s mind.  “If you decide you shall not fail, then you shall not.  It is your decision and has been for a long time.  Make your choice and stay committed.  If you decide that you will carry out your quest, then you will.  It will be the hardest choice that a person will make; the one that decides if he shall accept what he was called to do for those he loves, for the world.  I will be at your side.”

Aul

 

© 2014 “I Was Called” Dominic Sceski

Leave a Reply

