The Reason for “Pure Love”

Posted on Updated on

Last week, I wrote Pure Love, a rap song about the meaning of love in its relation to how men use their sexuality.  Despite how it was a good rap song–well, I liked it–you’re probably thinking right now, “What is a rap song doing on a blog about medieval fantasy?”  It doesn’t really tie in.  Or does it?

Obviously, if we only focus on the fact that the song was a rap song, and not some form of medieval poetry, you would be missing the point.  Forget that the song is a rap song, or forget that it’s a song at all!  Let’s focus on the meaning of the words.  Good…now let’s progress from there.

Why is the meaning of love so important on a fantasy blog?   Or more importantly, what does it have to do with my book (that’s what my blog is really about)?  Well, consider the fact that only true heroes know what love is.  We usually determine a hero by how he (or she) exercises his capacity to love in the most awesome, meaningful, and often sacrificial ways.  Most characters are driven by love to attain something good for people they care about.  In most cases, it’s a man acting like a knight in shining armor for a woman.   And while that’s great, love doesn’t only exist between a man and a woman.  Your parents can give you love, your siblings, your friends…even the mailman!  It’s not something that’s limited to the realm of romance.  I would like you to note that the chorus of “Pure Love” could be sung to anyone, not just from a man to a woman.  Merely by changing the pronouns in the song or inserting nouns in their place could we attain a chorus that speaks love to anyone.

Love is an action

It’s not what you feel

If you judge it by a feeling, then it ain’t real

Only a love that’s pure

With every intention for integrity

Not aiming for insincerity

That’s really what you want

I want the best for my soul-mate

And I’ll do what it takes to keep her life great

It’s not about me; it’s about her

Giving and receiving like the love we were made for

A love that’s so full, you can feel it through the air

And everything I do goes to saying “I care”

Yeah, the love we were made for

A love that’s totally pure!

Think about what would happen if you changed the word “soul-mate” to “my son” or “my brother”.  Or what about changing “her” to “my friend”.   This type of love, or the way that it is being expressed, might seem extreme, especially with the line “And I’ll do what it takes to keep (noun) life great”.   You might not think about writing a song about your love for a parent, sister, brother, or friend; but hey, if you really care about somebody, couldn’t you prove it by keeping his or her life great, despite whether or not you’re in a romantic relationship?  Once again, forget the particular relationship in the song and focus on how the lyrics could apply to anyone, provided that slight modifications are made.

Love is a driving theme in almost any story.  A specific type of love for a certain relationship might be the focus, but in the end almost every story is about love…or lack thereof.  Therefore, you could say that my book is about love.  Is it about cheesy love?  No.  When all is said and done, love is nowhere near being cheesy.  If you read “Pure Love” I trust that you’ll find loving someone takes a lot of effort, a lot of determination, a lot of difficulty, and a lot of pain.  But in the end, it’s totally worth it.  So what is love?  How can you show love?   Will you love?  Are you are hero?  Here’s a slogan I came up with that corresponds to my book:

Seek the Truth.  Find the Truth.  Live the Truth.

Aul

4 thoughts on “The Reason for “Pure Love”

    Kitt O'Malley, LMFT said:
    May 26, 2014 at 9:48 AM

    Romantic love in marriage involves work. Both parties give. You don’t always feel like soul mates. But over the years, making it through difficult years as well as easier times, you become more and more appreciative of each other. Yes, it involves giving and it takes commitment to shared values. I most appreciate my husband for his devotion to me and to our son.

      Aul responded:
      May 26, 2014 at 12:56 PM

      I totally agree!
      Aul

    Aakansha said:
    May 31, 2014 at 12:13 PM

    I just did a complete scrutiny of your blog! 😛 I hope you’re not offended, I wanted to know more about this TSOM thing. I love adventures!
    I gotta say this one surprised me in particular! YOU writing a song? And that too a RAP song! Wow! Haha 😀

      Aul responded:
      May 31, 2014 at 2:10 PM

      No I’m not offended at all! Thanks for taking the time to look through my blog. I’m happy that you liked what you found.
      Haha, yeah I guess that rap song was kind of a surprise. Thanks for the scrutiny!
      Aul

Leave a Reply

