Tunes of Inspiration

Posted on Updated on

As a writer, I find it very helpful to listen to particular types of music that suit whatever I am writing about.  For example, if I am writing about a peaceful, happy part of my book, I like listening to soft instrumental music.  “Concerning Hobbits” by Howard Shore is a perfect example.  For sad parts, I actually prefer music with singing; even popular radio songs of melancholy nature will do the trick.  For exciting parts, there are many different genres I look to browse through!  “Amon Hen” by Howard Shore is a good one, “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons is also a good one, and how can we forget “Rewrite” by Asian Kung Fu Generation?

Indeed, music has a very special ability, in which it rouses certain emotions to rise within a person and inspire them to think, or even behave, in a certain way.  My advice to you, my dear followers, is that, when lacking inspiration as you write, or proper motivation, pull up a tune on YouTube that speaks to you and allow yourself to be immersed in the sheer power of the passion that follows after.

Some bands and artists to try out:

Blackmill (I’m listening to “City Lights” right now)

Two Steps From Hell

Howard Shore

John Powell


Aul

 

5 thoughts on “Tunes of Inspiration

    Rebekah said:
    July 7, 2014 at 12:58 PM

    Thanks for the great idea. I do this sometimes with out even knowing it. If I am writing about something sad then I turn on sad tunes, it seems like the thing to do. Most of the time I try to keep the music off. I detracts me. But to get in the mood… it is a good idea.
    Have a nice day, Aul.

      Aul responded:
      July 7, 2014 at 1:01 PM

      I agree that sometimes music can distract me. Sometimes I like complete silence. But it can be very motivating. I’ve written some of the most important parts of my book while listening to music.
      You’re welcome! Have a nice day too 🙂
      Aul

        Rebekah said:
        July 7, 2014 at 1:39 PM

        It is good to have different sorces of motivation. Thanks for sharing one of yours. I think I will try this tomorrow while writing Ch. 21. It is about the last night Louise spend in the youthhostel before meeting the family that she will live with for the next year. She sits on the stairs with one of the German workers as he shares his favorite song with her… I might listen to the song that he shares, in order to get in the mood. Do you speak German? The song is a in German but the guy translates everything for Louise. It is a song about men. And it foreshadows Louise’s experiences with German men and boys. Maybe you would like to take a look. I will hopefully get it finished and published tomorrow. It would mean a lot to me. I think you have a lot of talent for someone your age. Or anyone for that matter. Feel free to leave contructive critisism, as I am always looking for ways to improve my writing. 🙂 I look forward to your next post.

        Aul responded:
        July 7, 2014 at 5:59 PM

        Okay! Will do 🙂 I’m currently not following you right now, but it seems like that would be a good idea! Thanks for the compliment,
        Aul

        Rebekah said:
        July 8, 2014 at 2:39 AM

        Your welcome.

Leave a Reply

