LOTR VS. TSOM

Posted on Updated on

(Image via http://geoawesomeness.com/waiting-new-hobbit-movie-explore-google-maps-middle-earth/)

Out of many fantasy novels or series, you probably won’t find a fictional world that is more developed than J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle Earth.  Tolkien literally spent years building this amazing world; a world home to many different creatures of his creation, each species with a distinct background.  If you have ever read any of The Lord of the Rings trilogy, or even any stories that take place in Middle Earth, you can see that Tolkien knows and understands his world inside and out.  The way he rants about this person’s background story, or how this place came to be, or the history of this race or that race easily reveals his love for the world he has created, and just how much depth and time he has put into Middle Earth.  Other than The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit, Tolkien wrote many other tales that follow different heroes in the world of Middle Earth.  But Tolkien goes even further than that; not only does he write separate stories about the happenings of Middle Earth, he practically put together a history book for his world.  Indeed, The Simarillion describes, in great detail, how Middle Earth was created and all that followed afterwards.  Do any authors of fantasy even compare with Tolkien’s grandeur?  His imagination?  His perseverance?

(Credit goes to John Howe)

If you are expecting me to say that my series can indeed compare with Tolkien’s, I’m afraid you are mistaken.  But only for the time being.  I have not yet built Montairyus into what it should be, or what it could be.  It is no Middle Earth; nor do I intend for it to be.  But I do want it to have as much depth as Middle Earth.  I want to know my world inside and out, being able to describe the background story of every worthy character, every notable place, and how all races came to be.  Already I have ideas for furthering my story of Montairyus’s creation…and I’m also coming up with stories for before the creation of Montairyus.  I hope that you will be patient, and in the meantime read and enjoy what you can.  My writings on the history of Montairyus can be found in the page “Montairyus History”.

Ask me questions about Montairyus.  Dive deeper.  Do you have any suggestions?  What do you think makes an awesome fantasy world?

If Tolkien could create such an awesome world, why can’t I?  Someday, I hope that Montairyus will be of equal depth as Middle Earth.  All I need is time, imagination, and perseverance.  Wish me luck!


Aul

 

5 thoughts on “LOTR VS. TSOM

    dorothytinker said:
    August 10, 2014 at 5:49 PM

    Does your world have gods or, at the very least, belief systems? I’ve created my own world as well for my Peace of Evon series, and I may not yet know the history of every country in the region (or even the names and number of all the countries). However, I have a pretty good understanding of the actions of the gods, which, in turn, affect the Physical Plane over which they rule.
    I definitely agree with you about wanting to know everything about the world I’ve created. Unfortunately, the more I learn about my world, the more books I want to write in it. And I’m still working on the first series.

    Aul responded:
    August 11, 2014 at 12:06 PM

    As a matter of fact, the creator of Montairyus is a god named Caeldius. You can read about how he created Montairyus in the first story of “Montairyus History”. God’s are important to know about, but if you really want to know your world, I’d suggest thinking of believable backstories for certain places and regions. You don’t need a fantastic, complicated backstory, just one that makes sense. Your series sounds interesting 🙂 Thanks for the follow!
    Aul

    cannibalmerk said:
    August 13, 2014 at 8:11 PM

    I’m digging the vibe man. I’ll be looking for more

      Aul responded:
      August 14, 2014 at 11:31 AM

      Dig all you want. I’ll do my best to provide.
      Aul

    The Return of Aul, Part 3 « Montairyus said:
    November 2, 2014 at 11:22 AM

    […] some of you can recall the post LOTR VS. TSOM.  I’ve decided that, upon viewing some of Tolkien’s works, and discussion with a dear […]

Leave a Reply

