ALMOST One Step Closer to Getting Published

Posted on

I guess the title says it all.  ALMOST one step closer to getting published.

The day before Thanksgiving, I sent out a query letter to a literary agency.  I always say that I’ll keep you guys in the loop, so here you go!

A query letter contains your book’s log-line, plot summary, and a short biography describing your achievements as a writer.  I thought that the overall letter turned out pretty well.  The problem is, I have to wait eight weeks in order to receive a definite “no” from the literary agency.  I’m not entirely excited about the wait; but that’s just the “worst case scenario”.  I could also receive an actual letter from the agency denying my query, or, in regards to the “best case scenario”, I could receive a reply telling me that they’ve accepted to help me find a publisher.

That’s what literary agencies do.   I’m going traditional with my book; first find a literary agent, the agent finds you a publisher, and then the publisher…well, you know, publishes your book.  That’s what I’m hoping for!

So I’m ALMOST one step closer to getting published, because I haven’t gotten a literary agent yet.  Once I get an agent, then I’ll REALLY be one step closer to getting published.

Prayers, support, and spreading the word about TSOM is most welcome!

Aul

6 thoughts on “ALMOST One Step Closer to Getting Published

    Christopher said:
    December 7, 2014 at 6:22 PM

    Good luck! I haven’t stepped into the world of querying quite yet, but I can’t wait to.

    Hope the reply is positive!

      Aul responded:
      December 7, 2014 at 7:28 PM

      Thank you! Good luck to you also!
      Aul

    Leona said:
    December 8, 2014 at 1:16 AM

    Good luck, but why don’t you consider going indie? I know a few people who are making a killing on Amazon. I also know a few authors who were originally TradPub but went indie. Even the mighty R.A. Salvatore went indie after his contract with his publisher expired. With Amazon, you see instant results and get way better royalties (70% compared to the TradPub 12% or even worse)

      Aul responded:
      December 8, 2014 at 6:23 AM

      Thank you!
      Going indie, eh? I honestly don’t know too much about how it works. You definitely have more control as an indie author and you get way better royalties, but don’t you think that most authors that went traditional became more famous and got more bank? I have no doubt that one could be a very successful indie author, but I feel like that’s a plan B. Thanks for the advice though 😉
      Aul

    Aakansha said:
    December 8, 2014 at 9:08 AM

    I’m so glad you’ve reached this far. Good luck and I hope I get to read your book soon. 🙂

    Leona said:
    December 8, 2014 at 10:21 AM

    It’s going the other way around too, here is a stellar example: http://www.theguardian.com/books/2012/jan/12/amanda-hocking-self-publishing You have to do the marketing yourself but if tge book is good, people (mainly book bloggers) will spread the word.

Leave a Reply

