Arthurian Legend Vs. Fantasy

Posted on

the image is not mine
the image is not mine

Does “I Was Called” stand out more as an Arthurian legend and less like a fantasy (as mentioned in a previous post)?  If so, why?  And if it does, is that better?

Don’t get me wrong, I think that anyone would label an Arthurian legend as a fantasy in one way or another.   So, before we can start answering the questions above, we first have to discover what the difference is.

When I think of “fantasy”, here’s what comes to mind:

  • Lord of the Rings
  • Harry Potter
  • Lots of magic
  • Huge battles
  • Amazing, totally made-up creatures
the image is not mine
the image is not mine

That might sound like “I Was Called”, but let’s see what comes to mind when I think of “Arthurian legend”.

  • King Arthur (shocker!)
  • The Chronicles of Narnia
  • Knights
  • Quests
  • Random adventures during the quests
  • Magic
  • Duels
  • The average fictional creature (dragon, giant, etc.)

Now, what makes “I Was Called” seem more like an Arthurian legend?  I’m going to mash both lists together, enabling us to get and overall idea of what “I Was Called” is like.  Note that I will label the most significant qualities of my book first, and then work my way down.  This list will not contain all of the properties listed above either.

When I think “I Was Called”, I’m thinking:

  • Quests
  • Random adventures during the quests
  • Lord of the Rings
  • Magic
  • Duels
  • Huge Battles
  • Amazing, totally made-up creatures

I’m not sure about you, but I think that, however slight it is, my book (at least the first one) seems to be very…knightly.  A family member who read “I Was Called” and thoroughly enjoyed told me that it resembles an Arthurian legend more than something like Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter (which undoubtedly appear to be more fantasy than Arthurian legend).  So, although my book is definitely fantasy (and “high fantasy”, quoting an editor of a small publishing house who reviewed a part of my book), it leans towards the knightliness of quests, thus favoring the side of being an Arthurian legend.

But then, once I get published, you can decide for yourself!

Aul

Leave a Reply

