Release

Posted on

So I’ve just been thinking.

I read a post recently over at http://befreebird.com/.  I can’t say that her writing was perfect.  I can’t say that she proofread her work very well.  But her writing was so simple, and so beautiful.  It really made me think, “Gee, I wanna right something beautiful like that.”  I came back to my blog, and I thought, “Her blog, everything about it, makes you feel free, light, and inspired.  I don’t feel that way when I look at my blog, or read through my content.”

I don’t.

I started to feel like something is missing.  That “light-heartedness”, that free, optimistic feeling.  It’s not here.  I felt like, “Wouldn’t that be great if I could give people such a feeling of hope.”  I wish I could.

But then I took another look at my blog.

The background—it’s dark.  It’s epic, it’s magical, and it’s beautiful, but I don’t see happiness written in it.  It doesn’t brighten up my mood just by looking at it.  And the content…my content.  Some of it may be beautiful too.  But it’s not cheerful necessarily.  It’s not optimistic.

This has helped me to discover what my blog is; a big part of what my writing is and what it’s about.

……..

It’s about struggle.  I see struggle whenever I look at that magical, awesome, bluish golden sky that is my background.  I see determination and anger in my writing.  I see a desire for something more.  I see a desire to have people understand what I’m writing for.  And none of this can be achieved without struggle.

After struggle.

That’s when the somber, earnest appearance breaks, and the freedom, the cheerfulness, and the happiness is released.  That’s when light breaks through the gray clouds; that’s when the storm clears.

There’s something beautiful here.

I can feel it.

It took me a long time to discover it.  And I hope you will too.

Thanks for reading,

Aul

6 thoughts on “Release

    proverbs31teen said:
    January 29, 2015 at 6:35 PM

    Amen. I know often when I compare my writing to others, I have to remember that not everything’s the same – it’s beautiful in it’s own way.

      Aul responded:
      January 29, 2015 at 7:03 PM

      Thanks for that 🙂
      Aul

    lincahceria5 said:
    January 30, 2015 at 8:59 AM

    Finally someone wrote a post about it.
    When I read my writing, I see growth. It’s not always nice but it’s necessary (at least for me).

      Aul responded:
      January 30, 2015 at 3:43 PM

      Exactly. Growth can hurt sometimes too, but it’s good to notice it and it’s good to encourage it.
      Thanks for reading!
      Aul

    Drew said:
    February 3, 2015 at 11:28 AM

    Cool blog. I really identified with a lot of what you said in that post. God bless.

      Aul responded:
      February 3, 2015 at 1:26 PM

      Thanks Drew! I’m glad you could take something away from it. I hope you stop by again.
      God bless you too 🙂
      Aul

Leave a Reply

